“Child” of the Nineties

Standard

Yesterday I was visiting my local bookstore that is (tragically) going out of business and ended up buying a handful of items including the latest Old 97s album, Grand Theatre: Vol 2 and Buffy The Vampire Slayer *movie*.  That’s right, not the tv show but the movie featuring Kristy Swanson and Luke Perry from 1992.  This movie was made at the height of 90210 mania and Luke was a real ladies’ man so of course I had to watch the film repeatedly.  Therefore when I saw it at the bookstore the nostalgia kicked in and I couldn’t resist the urge to buy it at its bargain basement price.

Cut to scene 2 as I wait to check out with my purchases.

Clerk: How are you doing.
Me: Good thanks. Yourself?
Clerk: Good. Wow… Buffy the Vampire Slayer *movie*, huh?  Talk about a trip down memory lane.
Me: Well, I thought I would relive my childhood crush on Luke Perry.
Clerk: AND Old 97s.  You really are a child of the 90s!  (The clerk then proceeds to re-evaluate all of my purchases).
Me: Do I need pre-purchase approval?
Clerk: (Ignoring snark)  AND you’re wearing an Old 97s t-shirt. Interesting…
Me: The 90s are back; I hope you have your cutouts, cavaricci’s, and crop tops ready to pull out of the closet.

I’m not sure how I feel about being typecast as a child of the 90s.  I definitely didn’t consider myself one, but then I saw this…

You are a child of the 90s if…
– You can sing the rap to “The Fresh Prince of Bel Air” (check)
-You’ve worn leggings and felt stylish (I even wore stirrup pants. The horror.)
– You yearned to be a part of the “Baby-Sitters Club” (well I don’t know about yearned but I definitely was all about cashing in on that profitable enterprise)
– You wore a side ponytail complete with scrunchies (As much as I hate to admit it, yes)
– You remember reading “Goosebumps” (well, I did read a couple, however I was more into Sweet Valley High and those terrible V.C. Andrews books)
– You took plastic cartoon lunch boxes to school (My favorite was my Raisinettes lunchbox)
– You wore slap bracelets until they made your wrists bleed (check)
– You went to the skating rink before inline skates were popular (best hang-out joint ever!)
– You still get the urge to say “Duh!”, “NOT!”, and “Psych!” after every sentence  (NOT!)
– You know that “WOAH” comes from Joey from “Blossom” and that “How Rude!” comes from Stephanie from “Full House” (uh, yeah)
– You wore socks over leggings scrunched down (ashamedly, check)
– You knew all the character names and their life stories on “Saved By The Bell” (I still have a thing for Zack Morris. Sigh.)
– You tuned in for “Where In The World Is Carmen Sandiago?” (check)
– You had at least  one GigaPet or Nano and brought it everywhere (Well, for about 5 minutes until I got bored and it died.  Guess I would probably suck if I ever tried to play Sims as well)
– You remember when the new Beanie Babies were always sold out (I still have some packed away in the attic to bring on Antiques Roadshow in 50 years)
– You wore a fanny pack (Unfortunately true, but in my defense, it was an excellent organizer for traveling)
– You carried a Trapper Keeper, probably with a picture of a kitten on it, and covered in Lisa Frank stickers (can I bury my head in shame yet?)
– You overused the phrase “Talk To The Hand” (It was just part of my natural charm)
– You remember when Arnold was famous for “I’ll Be Back” and not for being the governor of California (and for Kindergarden Cop as well)
– Your favorite song was “Smells Like Teen Spirit” (definitely a fan)

So it’s quite possibly true that I’m a “teen” of the 90s.  How about you?  Do you cringe when you remember crazy trends, bad movies, and awful fads that you loved when you were a kid/teen?  Share your most cringe-worthy memories in the comments!

Everyone needs affirmation... leave a comment

