The Shitenge Project: Eye Mask

Standard

As you may recall I am currently a) trying to figure out how to integrate a plethora of shitenges into my daily life and b) looking for ways to amuse myself between freelance projects, thus The Shitenge Project was born.

Last week, a migraine took me out of commission for several days.  During that time I doped up on meds and kept a cold compress handy for my neck and forehead.  Out of this experience, this week’s project was born.  It’s a variation of an eye mask and is designed to hold a cold compress or a scented sachet.

I started by measuring the length and width of a cold compress and cutting two strips of material an inch wider and larger than the compress.  I ended up increasing the length because I like having the cold compress wrap around my temples.  I was initially going to use a buttonhole but decided on a velcro closure so the compress could slip in and out more easily.  I also included two buttons from my great-grandmother’s button collection for decoration.

I really liked this project because the case is versatile so I can pull out the compress, toss in a lavender sachet, and have an instant eye pillow.  If you are interested in making your very own lavender sachet, it really is a simple process.   You can make a sachet packet slightly smaller than your case (suggested material: cheesecloth) and fill it with 1/2 cup of (dried) beans, 1/2 cup of rice/lentils, and 1/2 cup of dried lavender.

Please continue to leave any ideas for future shitenge projects in the comments section: comments in my last post suggested a place mat project but as I usually eat standing up, a bowl in one hand, and a spoon in the other, I think place mats might be a bit too classy for me.  However, in the same vein, everyone needs a napkin so look for a cloth napkin project coming soon!

One response »

  1. I got an eyemask as a gift several years ago in a beautiful fabric with some lavender inside. The scent is long gone, but I do enjoy the weight of it on my eyes still and every time I use it, I think of my friend who was kind enough to give it to me.

    p.s. I don’t know why I suggested placemats. I’m not classy enough to use those suckers but I do a little sigh of appreciation every time I walk by a display of them. =)

Everyone needs affirmation... leave a comment

